Various Things that You Should Know Regarding the Texas Car Accident Laws
Even if you are a good driver, you must still understand that you would still get yourself involved in the car accident. Those car accidents may cause you losses and inconvenience depending on how serious such accident is.
All of the different states in the US have various laws that concern the car accidents. You must know that State of Texas is actually a one non-at-all-fault-state and this means that it is quite possible for every driver to take such financial responsibility for such accident’s occurrence. So that you will be prepared in the event that there is an accident that takes place, then it is quite important that you know the Texas car accident laws.
The statute of limitations is a law which would set the time limit rights when it comes to filing a lawsuit in civil court. But such stipulated deadline would actually differ on the seriousness of those injuries which you suffered or such nature of the claim that you would like to submit. So many Texas car accident lawsuits would demand that you file the claims in just two years from the date of the crash.
Also, you have to know that in Texas, such statute of limitation countdown would start during the day of the crash. But, when you discover that there is injury later after the accident, with the help of an attorney, then the court may mark the countdown clock at such date of discovery.
With the Texas car accident laws, you have to know the court may actually pause such statute of limitation when there is wrongful death or the person dies as a result of the accident. Such regulations would also give a time limit of two years from the death of the individual and not during the time of the crash.
Also, you need to understand that under such Texas auto accident laws, if the driver would actually be found at fault for such vehicle crash, then one is required to give you compensation through the use of insurance of the other driver. The compensation can include the medical bills, lost wages, such damage to the vehicle and other losses because of the accident.
But, Texas sticks to such modified comparative fault rule. The rule is being applied when the two parties are found to be at fault of such accident. Depending on the share of fault of the plaintiff, the awarded damages would be reduced by a certain percentage. If the court has actually discovered that the other driver was 90 percent at fault of such accident, then you would be held responsible for the 10 percent of the crash and you will just receive 90 percent of the calculated damages.